PDA

View Full Version : To tube or not to tube?

ahorwitz
16-Aug-2009, 11:58
I've been shooting 8x10 for a few years now (still learning), and doing tray development, eyeing the jobo drums. I just recently began printing platinum/palad. I am curious how others might handle the issue of extended development/semi-stand, say in pyrokat? What tube set up is best for this application?

Bruce Watson
16-Aug-2009, 14:39
I've been shooting 8x10 for a few years now (still learning), and doing tray development, eyeing the jobo drums. I just recently began printing platinum/palad. I am curious how others might handle the issue of extended development/semi-stand, say in pyrokat? What tube set up is best for this application?

You can't really do stand or semi-stand development in tubes. The point of the tubes is continuous agitation -- you roll the tube and thus the film through a puddle of developer. If you stop rolling you'll have some film out of the developer and some underneath the puddle. Clearly uneven development will result.

If you want to work with stand and semi-stand agitation methods, tubes aren't going to be your best bet.

Donald Miller
16-Aug-2009, 15:11
You can't really do stand or semi-stand development in tubes. The point of the tubes is continuous agitation -- you roll the tube and thus the film through a puddle of developer. If you stop rolling you'll have some film out of the developer and some underneath the puddle. Clearly uneven development will result.

If you want to work with stand and semi-stand agitation methods, tubes aren't going to be your best bet.