PDA

View Full Version : Airport xrays and Film

Santo Roman
12-Aug-2009, 17:16
Just a quick thought or question. I'll be heading to Seattle for a month and a half and was not sure if I should pack my film in my carry on, my luggage or if I should send it priority mail from NJ? I've never traveled with my 4x5 until now and wanted to see what everyone thought I should do.

Thanks

santo

Joe O'Hara
12-Aug-2009, 17:54
Just a quick thought or question. I'll be heading to Seattle for a month and a half and was not sure if I should pack my film in my carry on, my luggage or if I should send it priority mail from NJ? I've never traveled with my 4x5 until now and wanted to see what everyone thought I should do.

Thanks

santo
Hi, Santo. I'm sure you'll get many responses to this. My experience is that if you pack your film in your carry-on luggage, you will not have trouble with the x-ray machines in the US. DO NOT pack it in your checked luggage. It will get nuked. I have no knowledge of what happens in the US mail. I have shipped undeveloped film to labs via Fedex without problems. Hope this helps.

Jim Michael
12-Aug-2009, 17:54
There are some recent threads on the subject which will show up in a search, however to satisfy my own curiosity I did an experiment with a calibrated radiation meter sent through a government x-ray scanner such as the type used in airports. The dosage measured was approximately the same as you will receive on your flight from NJ to WA, assuming you fly during the day at a cruise altitude of about 35,000 feet. So, trip to WA and back I wouldn't worry about it.

Just keep in mind that X-ray exposure is cumulative so several trips through the scanner might be detrimental to your shadows. They use much more powerful scanners for luggage screening so don't put your film in the checked baggage.

Gem Singer
12-Aug-2009, 17:55
If you have the time, by all means ship the film to your destination.