PDA

View Full Version : color film question

Rick Tardiff
9-Aug-2009, 14:35
as a newbie I have been shooting black and white but would like to try color, probably slide film. I have searched the forums, and online and need some straight talking on the subject. I am shooting people and cityscapes at present. Could someone give me some direction with color film.

pablo batt
9-Aug-2009, 14:46
do you want photographs or inkjets as a finished print?

Rick Tardiff
9-Aug-2009, 14:48
I hadn't thought about that, duh! what's my options?

pablo batt
9-Aug-2009, 15:05
i use colour neg film, and use kodak colour paper in a darkroom.

slide is not more difficult to achieve prints, but the expense is high on chemicals and paper

50 sheets of kodak ra4 paper 20x16inch costs 60 euro (getting harder to find fresh)
50 sheets ilfochrome 20x16inch costs approx 300 /400 euro (if you can find it)

if you plan to make inkjets from scans ,then i would advise transparency.

Rick Tardiff
9-Aug-2009, 15:20
thankyou Pablo, I am still very new to LF. My plan is to scan my results and use a inkjet printer. I am not sure which transparency film to use. I used kodak in 35mm format, but its no longer available. What is a good all rounder for 4x5.

pablo batt
9-Aug-2009, 15:23
i use velvia for high impact, but i dont use inkjets so i cant say what would be best

i only display my transparency in glass display sandwiches

my advice is to use ra4 + darkroom especially for portraits.

Bruce Watson
10-Aug-2009, 05:43
as a newbie I have been shooting black and white but would like to try color, probably slide film. I have searched the forums, and online and need some straight talking on the subject. I am shooting people and cityscapes at present. Could someone give me some direction with color film.