PDA

View Full Version : a chamonix 4x5 for architectural purposes?

mortensen
3-Aug-2009, 14:24
Hi - I'm another complete newbie, don't even own a 4x5 camera yet.

However, I've done quite a bit of reading in here and in a few books (and Simmons' is in the mail). I will be shooting mostly architectural photography - in my case probably a lot of compact, urban landscapes, not too much interior work.

portability is very important, so from reading in here it seems to me, that the chamonix 45n-1 would be my best bet, right...? Initially, I considered the Tachihara and the Shen-Hao. However, the chamonix's rigidity, universal bellows and simple (and beautiful) design appeals to me - and I think (but surely don't know) that it's movements are sufficient for me?

So I guess my question is: What do you experienced architectural photographers think og the chamonix's movements in relation to architectural work? Will I have enough rise? Or what would you recommend (camera+lens combo)?

I know that the Tachihara has more rise and fall, but wouldn't it require me to have strickly XL wides in order to actually be able to use it? I am also aware of the fact, that the Shen-Hao has some back rise that the chamonix lacks. But from reading in here, it (the Shen) is less rigid and heavier - and have a little less rise.

for the record, I think that I will be shooting with a 90mm, possibly also a 75 and 300 in some distant future with too much money to spend...

thanks!

lars mortensen
copenhagen

ps: I hope I am not bringing up a subject already discussed extensively in other threads. I have searched in here, but haven't yet found answers to these questions.

eddie
3-Aug-2009, 14:58