PDA

View Full Version : starting to get afflicted

jp
27-Jul-2009, 16:50
It was cheap enough to pick up a speed graphic and I was a LF photographer.

Camera, accesories, lens CLA was all under $300. Then I got an enlarger for 4x5, which cost me $50 and a few hours. Then I needed some more chemicals, film, and paper. Then a second lens and some filters.

Then I wondered about taking my speed graphic up in the air, so I researched (thanks to the archives here and the rest of the Internet). I've avoided the expense of LF roll film and the weight of the surplus aerial camera. I decided I'd likely get a WWII combat graphic as it's bellows/standard would be protected from the wind by a metal shield. I ended up winning in auction a Gowland aerial 4x5 instead for substantially less than a combat graphic might go for. I will probably use it from a piper super cub with a window latched up, or stearman biplane a local air museum operates.

So far, I've got a fairly extensive and fascinating collection of working gear, and it's less expensive than a used DSLR, that would likely be outdated in a year or two.

Steve Hamley
27-Jul-2009, 17:20
So far, I've got a fairly extensive and fascinating collection of working gear, and it's less expensive than a used DSLR, that would likely be outdated in a year or two.

Tell me about it. I've had a printer die in less than a year, and my scanner is dying after about 5-6 years. Most people would think that's a decent life for a scanner, but what burns my biscuits is that I was trying to scan a negative from my 1920's vintage (or earlier) Eastman #2 whole plate camera, which still works just like the Great Yellow Father intended it to, after 90 years or more. And besides that, it looks good too.

Cheers, Steve

Archphoto
27-Jul-2009, 17:51
jp: we all seem to have that feeling, you just got yourself the LF bug.

And don't wory about the DSLR getting "outdated", it will be so when you say/think it is.

Good shooting !

Peter

John Kasaian