PDA

View Full Version : Slip on focal plane shutter

Ron Lee
23-Jul-2009, 18:15
A new slip on focal plane gravity fed shutter is now ready for anyone who may be interested in one. Photos of the shutter and photos taken with the shutter on a LF camera can be seen at this link;

http://picasaweb.google.com/Kymtman/AddPhotos?authkey=Gv1sRgCOim-srI1r_IQA#

If you are interested contact me at rtincher@prtcnet.org or rtincher@hotmail.com
These shutters really work from speeds 1/1000 down to 1/8. I have been using a couple of them for the last six months.
Let me know what you may think about this lightweight (4.4oz) unit.
Thanks in advance:

EdWorkman
23-Jul-2009, 18:19
Cool
But that's not at the focal plane- the film is the focal plane
That nitpick aside, Cool

Turner Reich
23-Jul-2009, 22:16
Figure out a way to display the actual travel of the shutter and you will have the golden egg of devices.

CatSplat
23-Jul-2009, 23:16
That looks pretty neat, how does one select shutter speeds?

IanG
24-Jul-2009, 00:54
Two good shutters went unsold on Ebay last night, the seller mis-labelled them as pre-Packard type shutter, while they were Thornton Pickard (or copies).

They often sell for very little and are extremely easy to service/renovate.

Ian

Ron Lee
24-Jul-2009, 03:09
Selecting the speeds is simply removing a pin and repositioning the curtains. Not shown in the photos.

Ron Lee
24-Jul-2009, 03:24
The Thorton-Pickard that is for sale now is much more expensive and looks to out weight the Gatts/Tincher shutter many time over. I don't have to defend the Gatts/Tincher shutter, it has proven itself time and time again! Reich, do you mean the actual travel speed of the shutter? It falls at 32 feet per second, according to Newton.

numnutz
24-Jul-2009, 03:29
But the really big question is - "How Much"

nn :)

Arthur Nichols
24-Jul-2009, 04:52
does it work if it is not vertical?

Morten
24-Jul-2009, 05:18
But the really big question is - "How Much"

nn :)