PDA

View Full Version : Delta 3200 vs. HP5 development in PMK pyro

Henry Carter
21-Jul-2009, 18:55
I have been shooting HP5 for many years (both 4x5 and 120) which my lab develops in PMK pyro with a JOBO. I love the results.

Development times at my lab for HP5 are 14 minutes if rated at 200, and 16 minutes if rated at 400.

I want to try 120 Delta 3200 in PMK pyro, and I am not sure what to rate it at, and what development times to use. Given that the nominal speed of Delta 3200 is around 800-1000, if I rate it at 800 do I develop it in PMK pyro for 14 or 16 minutes? Can I rate it at 1600 and develop for 16 minutes?

How do development times of Delta 3200 (rated at 800 or 1600) in PMK pyro compare to HP5 (rated at 200 or 400)?

Ed Buffaloe showed good results with Delta 3200 developed in PMK pyro:

http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/Ti...200_grain.html

percepts
21-Jul-2009, 21:09
delta 3200 will likely show a lot of grain developed in PMK but it really depends on how much you enlarge it as to how much it shows.

It is a true ISO 3200 film if and only if you develop it in Microphen which it was designed to be used with and not ID11 which is the standard reference. But at 3200 with Microphen, it gets very grainy. Use ID11 and the speed will drop off to around 1250 but it depends on what contrast index is normal for you. so it could be 800 or it could be 1600 or it could be 1250. That's your choice of contrast you require in the result. Lower contrast and use 800, higher contrast use 1600 etc.

I don't have times for it with PMK but if you use ed bufaloes' dilution time and temp as a guide, then I would suggest 15% less time when doing it in a jobo with constant agitation. But remember PMK is not supposed to be constant agitation friendly but if your lab handles HP5 like that with sucess, then they may be able to do it with delta 3200. You can only try. Pyrocat HD may be a better choice for jobo processing.