PDA

View Full Version : problem with xenar 150mm

visionarte
17-Jul-2009, 18:15
hi everyone. this is my first time in this forum, i just bought a second hand toyo view with couple of lenses (90mm super angulon f:8 and 150mm f:4.5). i had used only few times in the past a lf camera and always wanted one so finally i got one. anyhow trying if everything works alright with the set purchased i found that there is no way that i can focus with the 150mm lens. in the glass everything looks blur ( like in a enlarger when the ring adaptor is put on in the wrong way around, it starts out of focus and it goes worst). with the wide angule everything is perfect and i don't understand what is going on. the lens seems in perfect condition tough. i would appreciate if somebody has idea of what's the problem. i hope is something that i do wrong, so i don't want to give back the camera that i just bought. schneider 150mm compur is the lens.

please some help

Gem Singer
17-Jul-2009, 18:29
You might have the front and rear standards too close to each other when starting out.

Try doing a rough focus by sliding the front and rear apart until the image begins to come into focus on the ground glass.

Then, obtain fine focus using the focusing knobs.

Should be no problem focusing a 150 with that camera.

visionarte
17-Jul-2009, 18:39
hi gem, the problem is that nothing is near to be in focus even sliding standars from far to close. closing the aperture to 22 and being very close (as for wide angule more or less) is the only way of recognise shapes, but imposible to focus o refine. i don't get it. the few times i work with this camera was with a 150mm lens and never had this problem.

Gem Singer
17-Jul-2009, 19:14
You stated that there is no problem focusing the 90.

Therefore, since you cannot get the 150 Xenar to focus at any distance, there probably is something wrong with the lens.

Check to make sure the front and rear elements are screwed into the shutter properly.

Andrew