PDA

View Full Version : Luggable 4x5

Dave Schneidr
2-Nov-2001, 06:46
It's time to retire my old Omega 4x5, it's not very rigid or precise and the lac k of interchangeable bellows is an issue. I think the Arca-Swiss F line would me et my requirements perfectly but I can't really justify the cost of new since I am an unpaid amateur with wife and kids. I could buy a used Sinar F/F1/F2 or a H orseman for less than a third the cost of a new Arca-Swiss. Primary use is field work. Prefer a monorail for full movements and some studio use. Are the Sinar F /F1/F2 or the Horseman 450 or L series going to meet the requirement of being mo re rigid than the Omega 45E I was using? Are they going to be more portable or a bout the same? I have played with a Horseman with the telescoping rail at a deal ers shop, seemed very rigid and precise but also heavy and bulky. Appreciate any feedback... or an offer on a used Arca-Swiss F.

Kevin Kemner
2-Nov-2001, 07:14
Dave,

You might check out the Toho (not Toyo) line of cameras. There is a good review on this website as well as a longer review on Kerry Thalman's Large Format website. (my apologies to Kerry if I spelled his name wrong). I use a later model Toyo with the extension rails, but for me its fine because I don't travel more than a mile or so from the truck.

Kevin

Donald Brewster
2-Nov-2001, 08:01
Nearly all of Kerry Thalmann's web site is devoted to the "luggable." For reviews on the Toho, take a look at the following two web sites:

http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~qtluong/photography/lf/toho.html

http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/toho.htm

neil poulsen
2-Nov-2001, 08:08
I have an Arca-Swiss Classic-F. I wouldn't want any other camera for my purposes, which are general landscape and architecture. It's portable in the field, it can handle long and short lenses, it's not too heavy, it callapses to a manageable size, etc. "Arca" stands for "All-Round-CAmera", and I think they're the best.