PDA

View Full Version : Will an oblong aperture opening affect image?

ethirtym
13-Jul-2009, 15:52
First off I am new to LF and this forum, so hello all! Now my question:

I bought a used 75mm schneider super angulon w/ copal 0 and received it in the mail today. I soon noticed that the aperture, when stopped down to F32 or F45, does not form a circular shape but more of a football shape. The opening is probably 1.3x, maybe 1.4x wider in one direction. At least one or two of the blades is a bit out of alignment. Otherwise the aperture blades move smoothly and by F22 or F16 the aperture looks to be round. So I'm wondering if this flaw would:
1. affect bokeh
2. affect flare shooting into the sun
3. create measurable distortion or
4. make the light falloff football shaped

The seller was not aware of this flaw and is willing to accept a return for refund. The lens otherwise seems to be an ok value so I'm soliciting your advice. The lens would be used in part for architectural interiors and I want to be able to use F45 to increase DOF (in spite of diffraction) and for long exposures.

Thanks!

Archphoto
13-Jul-2009, 16:05
You don't have to use f:45 for interiors, I have been using a 75mm SA for 20 odd years at f:22 and had allway's good results.
Make one or two shots at f:22 and give it a close look, if you like the results, keep it.
Sometimes this "football" shape happens, the problem is with the shutter, it was never designed to be realy used at f:45.
The only time you might need f:45 is with a studio flash if you have too much light and can not turn the power-ouput of the flash down.

It will affect your bokeh a tad, but it will not make your light falloff any diferent.

Peter

Eric Woodbury
13-Jul-2009, 16:17
Similar to a cat's eye. It will give you slightly more depth of field in the short axis than the long. More diffraction in the short than the long, etc. Probably not noticeable.

Gem Singer
13-Jul-2009, 16:34