PDA

View Full Version : Developing Efke/Adox 25

Matthew Rolfe
10-Jul-2009, 03:59
I've never used this film before (8x10 sheet) and I'm not too sure which developer/fixer combination I should go for. I know that the film emulsion is quite fragile and that it would most likely require a hardener in hte fixing stage. So far I've looked in to using either, D-76 or Rodinal for the development and a couple of Kodak and ilford fixers. Any advice? Does anyone work with Efke/Adox 25 film that could give me a good combination to be getting going with?

thanks

IanG
10-Jul-2009, 04:24
Either developer will be fine, I've used both, at the moment I use Pyrocat HD, it stains well and gives superb negatives very easy to print.

I just fix with Hypam/Ilford Rapid fixer, the emulsion is better than it used to be in the 70's/80's.

Ian

Matthew Rolfe
10-Jul-2009, 04:44
Thanks Ian

Philippe Grunchec
10-Jul-2009, 06:00
Maybe better, Ian, but still rather fragile... I gave up!

IanG
10-Jul-2009, 06:48
At I time I used to put a couple of drops of Formaldehyde in the developer, that hardened the film, but I wasn't using 10x8 film then, you could use a hardening stopbath.

Ian

Wallace_Billingham
10-Jul-2009, 07:55
I use all the Efke films a lot and use either Diafine or Rodinal. With Rodinal being the developer of choice with the Efke 25 and 50.

77seriesiii
10-Jul-2009, 13:14
I am with Ian on the Pyrocat HD. My understanding is that the Pyro hardens the developer and i seem to recall some of the long term Pyro users recommending not using Hardener in the fixer...Having said that I have used Kodaks rapid fix with hardener and had no problems with 120 or 4x5 film. However, I develop the 4x5 in a combi plan, stops me from scratching the negatives with my meat hooks.

Erick

IanG
10-Jul-2009, 13:44
Erick, I think the alkali fixer bit is a big myth, and is mainly hype. I've not seen any evidence to the contrary, and no research that backs it up.