PDA

View Full Version : Which B&W film?....I can't decide.

Matthew Rolfe
9-Jul-2009, 10:27
Hi, wouldn't mind a bit of help here. I'm a keen landscape photographer looking for a change in film.
I've been using Kodak T-Max 100 for a quite a while and i'm looking for a change. I tend to get a bit precious about one film and use it repeatedly, but now that I have bought a 8x10 camera I think it is time for a change and some experimentation. I'm not asking for advice on what film I should start using from now on, but rather what would be a good film to try out as my first pack of 8x10.

Thanks

77seriesiii
9-Jul-2009, 10:32
try 'em all!! :p

I currently use efke 25, Ortho, Foma 100, 200 and have a yellow box in the fridge. I just started shooting the efke so havent developed it, the Foma is great, love it. I also develop w/ pryocat HD as well.

Honestly, nothing wrong with getting a small sample 25 sheets of each type, maybe even throw in x-ray and IR.

happy shooting

Erick

Mark Woods
9-Jul-2009, 10:34
I've used Ilford's Delta 100, but I keep going back to FP 4+ 125. I just bought some Adox ortho film, but haven't shot any of it yet.

David Beal
9-Jul-2009, 10:34
Try Delta 100 at EI=50, developed in 1:50 Rodinal.

Good shooting.

/s/ David

IanG
9-Jul-2009, 10:40
Agree about Delta 100, and it's cheaper than Tmax in the UK.

Like David I shoot it at 50 EI but I process mine in Pyrocat HD, it's an excellent film.

Ian

Bosaiya
9-Jul-2009, 11:31
Efke 25, of course.

Daniel_Buck
9-Jul-2009, 11:37
Adox CHS 25 and ortho 25 are fun, and inexpensive :-)

Matthew Rolfe
9-Jul-2009, 11:53
Cheers for the advice, I think I will give the Delta 100 a go at 50 first.

Brian Ellis
9-Jul-2009, 11:56