PDA

View Full Version : low contrast

Deborah Betz
30-Oct-2001, 09:47
I am new to large format, I have a orbit 4x5 with a Calter II-E 1:6,8 f210mm lens..I did a few test shots with agfapan 100. it was taken in natural li ght, half shadow, medium close up of people. It was a very muddy contrast, which is surprising because agfapan is usually pretty snappy.( i shoot alot of agfapa n 35mm). What I am i doing wrong? wrong bellows extention? I am going to be doi ng a series of city landscapes with this camera, any suggestions would be apprec iated

Chad Jarvis
30-Oct-2001, 10:01
Sounds like at a very minimum a case of underdevelopment, though it could be a combination of underexposure and underdevelopment, depending on whether the negative is thin or not. Is it?

chris jordan
30-Oct-2001, 10:05
might be a camera problem-- a hole in your bellows that is leaking light, possibly?

Ed Buffaloe
30-Oct-2001, 10:39
Give us developer, time, temperature, agitation method, and exposure index, and someone might be able to suggest something.

Michael Kadillak
30-Oct-2001, 10:46
I agree with the previous post as per the subject of light leaks. Test your bellows with a point light source from the inside in a darkroom. In you have pin holes, they will be very obvious. I would also add to make sure that your films holders are in good shape and are inserted fully. Pulling the dark slide should be done carefully so as to not pull the holder away from the film backafter in the process. Insert the dark slide squarely to prevent light from leaking past the darkslide flap. If you are light tight and it is not a holder or slide problem, I would look at outdated film or exhausted developer next. Continue to isolate and eliminate a variable at a time or your frustrations will cause you to blame the format and that would be a real shame. Hang in there! Your efforts will be rewarded when you see the results.

M.
30-Oct-2001, 12:51