PDA

View Full Version : How do I ..................

ignatiusjk
26-Jun-2009, 12:41
How do I control the contrast in a scanned photo? I run into a situation where the lower and middle values are fine but the high values are not holding detail.I shoot b&w landscapes and my waterfalls are just a little washed out. I would like to have my lower and middle values on a grade three paper with my higher values on a grade two. What do I do???? Please keep it simple, Thanks.

Richard M. Coda
26-Jun-2009, 13:30
In a "scanned" photo you work them separately, using levels or curves adjustment layers for each, and masking each separately.

In a darkroom, you use split filtering.

ignatiusjk
26-Jun-2009, 13:43
I'm not sure what you mean I'm still learning photoshop. Can you take me step by step or a short version?

ignatiusjk
26-Jun-2009, 13:44
I also have photoshop Version 5 does that matter?

Gem Singer
26-Jun-2009, 13:52
Adobe sponsors workshops on how to use Photoshop almost every day of the year in just about every corner of the globe.

Attending one really helps.

Marko
26-Jun-2009, 14:28
Most workshops concentrate on the newest version, occasionally on the previous one, but that's it. PS 5 is truly ancient, regardless of platform.

A total beginner might be best off by taking one of the online training classes, as they can progress at their own pace. I would recommend Scott Kelby (http://www.kelbytraining.com/) and lynda.com (http://www.lynda.com/).

Lynda might be better for start, since they also have some free courses, while Kelby is better for photography-related topics.

ignatiusjk
27-Jun-2009, 09:47
If I get a newer version of PS does that mean I have to rescan all of my negs?

Brian Ellis
27-Jun-2009, 10:31