PDA

View Full Version : Aero Ektar 178, Some Questions...

lambis
26-Jun-2009, 05:18
My first post:-)
I am a fashion photographer and really in the need to go to other places. Is a time of changes. I have long time thinking to try Film and Large format for some Projects. It will be a new process that i hope push me in new ways to think and capture.
Now my question its follow.

I am thinking to get a Aero Ektar 178mm f2.5 for fashion portraits. Maybe with a Graflex Speed Graphic. Altenative is the Chamonix 4x5.

Now the Questions.
1. Is it possible, trough maybe a adapter/Mount to use the Aero Ektar with a Hasselblad H?
2. Wich Camera bodys can i use with a Aero Ektar?

The question is that i like to be in the beguining flexible with Digital & analog in the same time and i have a Phase One P30 H mount back that i love to use together with the Aero.

Regards
lambis Stratoudakis

www.apneaimages.com

Walter Calahan
26-Jun-2009, 05:47
The best camera is the Speed Graphic for its focal plane shutter.

I have one mounted to a Graflex 4x5 SLR, but it will not focus on infinity. It is only good for close portraits.

An example: http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Cheers/Portfolios/Pages/Portraiture.html#6

Sevo
26-Jun-2009, 06:12
1. Is it possible, trough maybe a adapter/Mount to use the Aero Ektar with a Hasselblad H?

It is possible to adapt anything. YMMV how much it will cost and whether it is worth while mounting it to a H body - if any, I'd use it with a digital back on a view camera.

Aero Ektars are merely cheap wide aperture lenses with LF coverage, with otherwise rather modest performance (they are low contrast and about one to three stops slower than the nominal aperture suggests, being uncoated and having yellowed). They are interesting for people that want a narrow DOF on a shortish large format lens on a budget. But there are vastly superior 2.8/180mm lenses with medium format coverage, even at a budget - the 2.8/180mm Sonnar for P6 is not that much more expensive.