PDA

View Full Version : advice for beginner

Joseph Deacon
24-Jun-2009, 00:28
Hello everyone,
I would be most grateful if some of you could offer me advice regarding buying a large format camera. I have plenty of experience with photography but not so much with 5x4.

My requirements are:

1. Cheap i.e low end on ebay etc
2. I shoot close-ish with a short tele
(85mm on DSLR, from between .75-3m, thats from around 2 1/2 ft to around 10)
3. weight isn't so much of a problem but bulk is.
4. I would like some movements, to give me some scope for wider landscapes at a later date. Something that would take a gentle wide angle (28-35mm equivalent)

I studied the forums but I am still slightly ignorant, would a s/h MPP or crown graphic fit the job?

Thanks Kindly
JD

Vaughn
24-Jun-2009, 01:33
Those are good cameras, but limited. I suggest something more versitile and that would last several years before you might want to up-grade. Something like a used Tachihara or Horseman Woodman. A field camera rather than a rail camera, if lack of bulk is an important criteria.

But the MPP or Graphic cameras might fit you well -- possibility of hand-holding and all that. They travel well. I used my Rollei (the camera I learned with) like a LF camera without realizing it (tripod, slow film, f/22), so going to LF was very natural for me. Those cameras would have been a waste of time for me....but may work for you.

Lots of treads on lens choices for beginners. It is all a matter of personal choice...but don't determine lens choice just based on your previous use of equivilent focal lengths of smaller formats. Apples and oranges. Using a LF camera will change the way you see and photograph. Be prepared to break away from what you use to do. You may not, but there is a good chance you will.