PDA

View Full Version : Lens ID?

Jim Fitzgerald
23-Jun-2009, 07:38
I've had this lens for some time and it has just been sitting around and I was curious if anyone might know anything about it. My digital camera is down so I'll do my best to describe what I think is an enlarging lens.

The only markings on this thing are 14A/3140 Burke & James, Inc. Chicago 4, Ill.
Around the inside rim of the glass you have F/ 5.6 UU 285965 14 in.

The iris stops go from, as marked, F-5.6 to F-16. It does close down to maybe F-22 or 32. The lens is heavy, a little over 2 lbs and it is about 3 3/8 " long, front lens 3 1/4" diameter and the rear about 2 3/4" diameter. I shined a light in it and I can see 5 distinct reflections.They almost look to be in groups of two,one,two? I'm no lens expert so I thought I would ask. I'm thinking of mounting it on a board and trying a portrait with it on the 11x14. Got plenty of x-ray film so I can experiment. Thanks.

Jim

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
23-Jun-2009, 08:15
Can't say for sure without an image, but from the description I would hazard a guess that it is a Dallmeyer designed (but not necessarily made by them) aerial lens made for the British Air Ministry during WWII.

According to the Vade Mecum these might be a Serrac, a Tessar type lens.

Jim Fitzgerald
23-Jun-2009, 08:31
Can't say for sure without an image, but from the description I would hazard a guess that it is a Dallmeyer designed (but not necessarily made by them) aerial lens made for the British Air Ministry during WWII.

According to the Vade Mecum these might be a Serrac, a Tessar type lens.

Jason, thanks for the info. Yes I wish I could take a picture of it but my digital is dead. I forgot to look in the Vade Mecum. Guess I'll have to mount the thing and shoot it. Maybe I'll get lucky and it will give me some nice images.

Jim

Pete Watkins
23-Jun-2009, 08:34
Hi Jim,