PDA

View Full Version : How to manipulate contrast when contact printing?

Samriel
5-Jun-2009, 08:14
I'm quite new to LF and to film/analog photography in general. For the last several months I've been shooting 8x10, but I often end up with prints that are too contrasty for my taste as I'm shooting mostly portraiture. The negatives do not seem as contrasty as the final print.
As I'm still in my early learning stages, I've only been using Fujifilm Neopan ACROS 100 film and Fujifilm Tone WP (Grade 3 - only grade available) RC contact printing paper, so I could get used to the process. I develop in Dektol (1:2) for one minute at 20 degree Celsius.
Is there an option of lowering the contrast without changing the paper? Maybe using another developer like Selectol Soft? I do have access to other papers (multigrade of lower grade papers), although they are all enlarging papers. Except the difference in light sensitivity, what other differences are there between contact printing papers and enlarging papers?

Any help or advice is sincerely appreciated!

Vlad

IanG
5-Jun-2009, 08:36
You can use Soft working developers like ID-3 & Kodak D165, they will drop contrast by nearly a grade, also flashing can help to.

Those two developers are equivalent to Adaptol & Selectol Soft.

Ian

Michael Alpert
5-Jun-2009, 08:41
Vlad,