PDA

View Full Version : Large Format in S.E. Texas (College Station area)

henrysamson
4-Jun-2009, 08:05
Are there any large format photographers in the College Station, TX area? I've been living here for 15 years and have never seen anyone (but me) out with a large format camera. I've been using large Format cameras for over 30 years and would love to find some photographers with similar interests in the local area. Even if your just lurking on the forum and considering giving large format a try . . . let me know!

Thanks!

Henry

rdenney
4-Jun-2009, 10:10
Are there any large format photographers in the College Station, TX area? I've been living here for 15 years and have never seen anyone (but me) out with a large format camera. I've been using large Format cameras for over 30 years and would love to find some photographers with similar interests in the local area. Even if your just lurking on the forum and considering giving large format a try . . . let me know!

You're a few decades too late.

When I was living there, I had the almost exclusive use of an old Linhof Kardan view camera that was owned by the Environmental Design department at you-know-where. I was the only student in that program who knew what it was for. They also had a Century Graphic 2x3 press camera that I used to photograph the bonfire one year, and the student camera club sold thousands of those prints (I still have the negative). There were several of us at the time who were into larger formats, and that capability made many things possible for me as an architecture student (including doing commercial paid work for professors, research departments, and other students).