PDA

View Full Version : First Time in Utah

nray
28-May-2009, 06:09
Hi.

My wife and I are celebrating our 30th anniversary this September 23rd by taking Amtrak out to Salt Lake City and then renting a car. I have never been out west, my wife has. I am a novice LF shooter. (4x5)

I have been reading the current threads about shooting in Utah and after researching a little, feel overwhelmed at all that is available in that beautiful area. I was going to drive southeast toward Moab then Monument Valley and ending up at the Grand Canyon. We will be staying in hotels. Like I said, I feel overwhelmed and need a plan to shoot what I can in the course of around 7 days. It feels like it's going to be an overload of beauty to capture. I know I need to pick some spots. But, which ones? We also just want to enjoy the sights together. We will probably end up in Las Vegas to fly back home. So, I need a plan so I can feel relaxed and comfortable during the trip.

Would appreciate any advice.

Thanks guys.
Norm Ray

PBrooks
28-May-2009, 06:40
I'm not sure going from Salt Lake to Moab and then down and around to LV in 5 days is going to be relaxing. But if you are taking that route before you get to MV take a drive through the valley of the Gods. I would get the travel books, can't remember who by but I'm sure someone will suggest these books also. Have fun no matter what, you couldn't have picked a more beautiful scenic drive. My wife and I set out on what we thought was going to be a 2 week honeymoon in area, well we didn't make it home for a month and a half.
Good luck!

John Jarosz
28-May-2009, 07:49
Is there a reason you want to go to Salt Lake City?. The train is scheduled to get in at 11 PM and it will probably be late. You'd have to get a hotel in the middle of the night, and still not get much rest.