PDA

View Full Version : Caution X-RAY fog!

Don Dudenbostel
26-May-2009, 15:43
For those of you that will be traveling to Europe be prepared for possible film fog on 400 ISO and higher. My wife and I traveled to Italy last week and passed through US x-ray inspections four times and in the Paris airport three times and Florence twice. I have extensive experience with x-ray imaging and have worked with x-rays for nearly forty five years so I know exactly what x-ray fog looks like. My film is still drying so I haven't had a chance to closely examine the 100 ISO but at this point I don't think there was any problem. I shot 1 roll of Neopan 400 35mm and 7 rolls of 100 Acros. The Acros shows no fog or pattern that would indicate any problem but the one partial roll of 400 was still in my camera and the portion that was in the cassette shows a distinct fog pattern from the end cap of the film cassette. The rest of the roll wound up on the take up spool shows a distinct increase in base density. By distinct it's probably a 10% increase in density. I had three other rolls of 400 in my bag and will run on to see if it is on it too. This is a batch of film I have been using out of for a year or so with no problems.

When I get a chance this week I will scan the fogged portion and post it.

Gene McCluney
26-May-2009, 16:20
Was all your film in your carry-on luggage? Did you run it through the carry-on scanners?

Don Dudenbostel
26-May-2009, 16:23
Yes all of my film was on my carry on and was run through the x-ray system.

Robert A. Zeichner
26-May-2009, 16:37
I just got back from Greece and passed through Detroit, Amsterdam, Athens, Santorini, Paros and Paris with a total of 6 passes through the belt and no problems with TMX100. I also brought TMX400, but didn't shoot any. The next time I process TMY I will snag a sheet from this batch and test, but the last time I made the same trip, I did shoot TMY with no problem.

Don Dudenbostel
26-May-2009, 18:15