PDA

View Full Version : Help! Monorail camera advice

Fabien
25-May-2009, 14:18
Hi,

I am new in the community. I am a French student in photography in UK, and after 6 months of use of a Shen Hao TZ 45II A, I decided to change it for a mono-rail camera.

My needs: archi +landscape so most of outdoors photography and wide angle.
The problem is I have a "student budget", so I have to compromise.

My first choice was Arc Swiss (F Line , or better Misura but very expensive and hard to find in Second hand)

2, Titan XL, compact, not heavy, but too much limited in movement
3, Sinar F1-F2, good price, but I heard it s a nighmare for the transport ??? and the Norma ?
4,Toyo 45CX, cheap, what a about the built (cheap too!) and is it heavier than the Sinar...

Hoping you will can help me ...
Thanks and sorry for my English, not yet fluent ...

Lachlan 717
25-May-2009, 15:37
Fabien,

The Titan isn't a monorail.

No monorail is going to be much fun to transport relative to a field camera.

However, that being said, I think that the L range of Horseman cameras are very good value, both for the actual camera and for the range of Sinar parts that will suit it.

Lachlan.

Kirk Fry
25-May-2009, 17:07
A first generation ARCA (AB or B series) would be nice with a bag bellows and short rail. Very light and you can use a flat lens board.

KFry

rdenney
25-May-2009, 17:11
The Sinar F is priced very well for the used market, and it will accept a 65mm lens on a flat lens board. A 47 on a flat board will work, but with very tight compression of the bag bellows. The cheap recessed boards available on ebay work fine.