PDA

View Full Version : Wetplater moves to film - oh no! What film?

goamules
21-May-2009, 09:14
After a year of shooting wetplate, I'm ready to try film. Yes, I'm following a somewhat historically chronological order, but skipping dryplate for a while (noodles?! Strainers? hours long temperature control?!).

I did buy some Tri-x 400 that was expired, now I wonder if it will be too fast. What I want to do is shoot some portraits and perhaps landscapes with ambient light (a la wetplate). I will be shooting some fast petzvals and veritos. Unfortunately, most are in barrel, though I do have a packard shutter rig and some of the lenses have studio shutters.

The question is, will 400 be too fast for me to shoot with a packard or studio shutter? Will I be better suited with some other, slower film? Total film novice here, though I have tested myself by shooting some paper negatives (about ASA 3 right?). What to do with the coming Tri-x 400?

Thanks for the help.
Garrett

Gene McCluney
21-May-2009, 09:21
Tri-X will probably be too fast for your Petzvals and Veritos if you are using a Packard or Studio shutter, as you will be limiting yourself to a 1/25th of a second shutter speed. The way around this is to use neutral density filters on the lens to reduce the light. But, filters for those ultra-big lenses are expensive. It all depends on how determined you are to do this. Freestyle sells Efke black and white film in ISO 25, which is a much more appropriate speed for what you want to do. It is available in a wide range of sizes.

goamules
21-May-2009, 09:30
Thanks, that's what I was afraid of. I do have one verito with a Betax 4, so that will be my lens for the Tri-x I suppose. I'll look for the ISO 25 after I shoot some of this. Perhaps a trade will be in order....

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
21-May-2009, 10:08
Garrett, I have used a 4x4" .9 ND gel filter in the past with film. These are not cheap, but do make life a bit easier.