PDA

View Full Version : What's this Arca Swiss camera model?

lethoncbon
20-May-2009, 20:43
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to large format - I've been shooting digital for few years now, and recently wanted to try medium format and then large format : I rented an Horsman 450 camera last week-end and even if I found it pretty heavy, i really loved the way I could play with the focal plan.

I have the opportunity to buy an Arca Swiss camera, that comes with a Rodenstock Apo Ronar 240mm f9 lens and some accessories - like around 20 film holders, a polaroid back, polarising filter...

I already know I will have to buy another lens to get wider shots.

Still, the seller can't tell me exactly which model is the camera he's selling, and I didn't find so far a matching camera in google :

http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/9143/5483n7k20.jpg

The seller also told me that the rail could extend.

So my questions are :) :
- any idea of the model of this camera?
- would it be a good choice to start?
- is 430$US a fair price?

Thanks a lot in advance for sharing your knowledge with a new fan of LF :)

Bye!

PS : thanks to excuse my English as it's not my primary language :)

Michael Finder
20-May-2009, 22:24
Hi,

This is the same Arca Swiss model I had as my first 4x5 large format. I do know it is fairly old, probably 20 years +. The camera looks in good condition. If you can: - check the bellows for light leaks. The bellows are also interchangeable so you can get a wide angle bellows for wide angle lenses. Arca Swiss are excellent system camera wit lots of accessories.

This is a good studio camera, however I wouldn't like to carry this in the field. It is a high quality camera, quite solid and heavy. You will also need a solid tripod. I think this outfit would be heavier than a Horseman 450.

I made my own lens panels out of aluminium sheet.

This seems to be a fair price for what you have described is on offer.

Cheers

Michael

Kirk Fry
20-May-2009, 22:45