PDA

View Full Version : Some help to process a 1965 4x5 film...

sapata
20-May-2009, 16:02
Just got from ebay a sealed box of Gevapan 36 4x5 with expire date of 1965. I've had some experience processing some well expired film before, however it wasn't that old and It was a 127 film I used on my plastic camera.
Has anyone done this succesfully ? I believe the results can be quite interesting...

Another thing, on the box says Gevapan 36 I guess 36 is the ISO isn't it ?

Thanks all

Brian Ellis
20-May-2009, 16:22
I believe Gevapan 36 is the equivalent of 400 ASA.

Pat Kearns
20-May-2009, 21:10
I found a very brief mention of Gevapan 36 in an old Photolab Index book. It was made by Agfa-Gevaert listed under their B & W motion picture films. ASA D of 320, and T 250. No developing info was given. I would probably treat it like Tri-X in exposure and development.

John Jarosz
21-May-2009, 05:21
My 1973 Photo Lab index lists Gevapan 36 negative and a Gevapan 36 reversal.

The negative version is listed as ASA 320 for daylight and the reversal is listed as ASA 250 (daylight). I can't find any developing information.

John

sun of sand
21-May-2009, 15:59
1965 isn't really all that old in terms of shooting for the oddity
Unless kept in the attic it should give decent enough results
I'd shoot it at 125 and do as Tri-X
I'd probably shoot it at 50 or something and dump a bunch of anti-fog into the developer
I've read that anti-fog loses you speed but in another test it was found benzotriazole doesn't =much speed loss ..Haven't done that test yet for myself

Shot a 1974? pack Tri-X basement stored that eventhough quite foggy -w/out anti-fog- printed very nicely. I threw the rest away but the straight print on grade 4 contrast looked really nice. Maybe it was that vintage film or maybe just the chance subject and chance lighting ..should have done a little comparison

sun of sand
26-May-2009, 16:00