PDA

View Full Version : Rigidity of a system: 4x5, tripod and head, my experience

shadowleaves
20-May-2009, 13:13
This is probably my first serious "long" post here but I think I've got some experience to share...it's about the rigidity of a relatively light 4x5 camera, Chamonix 045N-1 and the proper supporting system (tripod, head) to be used with it.

I got my Chamonix 045N-1 last year, which as many of you guys already knew, is a great lightweight 4x5 system with ample shifting/tilting abilities. In the beginning I used it on a Benro C-168m8 tripod which is on the same level as a Gitzo 1541T, with a Chinese-made fine ballhead "Kangrinpoche" NB2-A which is not known here, but basically it's a well-made smaller Arca B1 clone with very impressive locking ability and smooth operation. Before I got my Fujinon-C 300/8.5 lens, the entire system seemed very stable even in windy condition; I could see no shaking of image in the ground glass. However later when I got the Fujinon-C 300/8.5 and 450/12.5 lense, the problem of instability immediately emerged. I had to avoid using the center column and be very careful about using the cable release for 300/8.5C to get a sharp image with 300/8.5. With 450C, which was installed to the camera via the Chamonix bed extension adapter, it was almost a mission impossible - simply no way to stabilize the image in the GG even without wind.