PDA

View Full Version : Digital Camera Adapters?

J. Cole
19-May-2009, 22:50
Hi Everyone, I'm new to LF and still acquiring my gear but in the process I have come across some adapters that I'm sure all of you have seen. These are the adapters that allow you to connect a digital SLR to a 4x5 LF camera. One is stationary with the digital mounted in the center of the board and the other allows the digital to slide in a straight line presumably either vertically or horizontally. However, it seems to me that even with a full frame sensor, which I have, only the center of the image would be captured with the stationary adapter and only a panorama of the center of the image would be captured with the sliding adapter. Is that a correct assessment? If any of you have used these adapters please let me know your experiences. It would be fun to use my digicam but it seems counter intuitive for the LF concept and counter productive to through away most of the benefit of the large 4x5 image. Sorry for such a long question. Thanks, Jerry

Joanna Carter
20-May-2009, 02:28
Hi Everyone, I'm new to LF and still acquiring my gear but in the process I have come across some adapters that I'm sure all of you have seen. These are the adapters that allow you to connect a digital SLR to a 4x5 LF camera. One is stationary with the digital mounted in the center of the board and the other allows the digital to slide in a straight line presumably either vertically or horizontally. However, it seems to me that even with a full frame sensor, which I have, only the center of the image would be captured with the stationary adapter and only a panorama of the center of the image would be captured with the sliding adapter. Is that a correct assessment? If any of you have used these adapters please let me know your experiences. It would be fun to use my digicam but it seems counter intuitive for the LF concept and counter productive to through away most of the benefit of the large 4x5 image.