PDA

View Full Version : Can you process fuji velvia quickloads by hand?

gameface
18-May-2009, 14:25
I live in las vegas and NOBODY does processing around here anymore. I know a guy that does a good job with b&w, but there is nobody to do color. do i need a jobo or something to process my own or can it be done without the big machines?

gameface
18-May-2009, 14:26
by the way, i'm fairly new to this so all i know about a jobo is the small amount i've read and may be wayyy off base.

Glenn Thoreson
18-May-2009, 14:40
All you need is your standard developing tank, etc, and some E-6 chemicals. The only tricky part is keeping the temperature constant. A water bath will handle that, i.e. sink, developing tray, dishpan, whatever, and some hot water. Temps are high, in the 100° F range. Your tank will want to cool down on you. I find it hard to believe there's no place in Vegas that does E-6.
BTW - If you don't want to do it yoursel, you could send it to A&I in Hollywood. Top notch. www.aandi.com

gameface
18-May-2009, 15:15
thanks glenn. I'm going to gather some supplies then and give it a shot. I know it's hard to believe, but yes, there is nobody here that will develop my 4x5 color film. the guy that i take my b&w to had a business partner that did all color, but since the economy took out there place...there is nothing. there were two main photo shops in town, only one of which did processing, and that one just went out of business. there is a little place here that will do a few things but i had them scan a couple of my positive 4x5s and they looked HORRIBLE. then the guy tried to triple the price that he quoted me, no joke. vegas sucks. i'm going to give it a go on my own, thanks for the reply.

Jan Pedersen
18-May-2009, 15:26
If you don't already have the chemistry for E-6 processing you might want to check this company out, they have by far the best price on Kodaks 5L kit.