PDA

View Full Version : Question for an optical engineer

Ivan J. Eberle
15-May-2009, 06:56
Assuming all else to be equal (focal length, grinding and polishing accuracy, glass formulation, collimation/manufacturing tolerances), would a lens that is optimized for a larger image circle than 4x5 inherently have lower resolution than one optimized for the format?

ic-racer
15-May-2009, 07:05
Light passing through the center is not bent as much by the glass, therefore, can retain resolution. Thats my thought based on empiric data.

Arne Croell
15-May-2009, 07:08
Does "all else" include the price/manufacturing cost?

Gem Singer
15-May-2009, 07:55
I'm not an optical engineer, but this is what I have discovered. A lens with huge coverage ability is not less sharp when used with a smaller format.

In fact, it seems to be sharper when used with the smaller format, since it is only using the center section of the image circle.

For example, I have a Nikkor f8 120SW and a Nikkor f9 300M. both lenses have image circles and will cover 8X10. When used for the 4X5 format, they are extremely sharp.

Emmanuel BIGLER
15-May-2009, 08:18
would a lens that is optimized for a larger image circle than 4x5 inherently have lower resolution than one optimized for the format?

It is very difficult to give a clear answer to the question because it depends how you compare the final results.

The first answer that comes to mind would be to say : yes if you compare the same lens design, same glass, same manufacturer, larger lenses for larger formats have lesser resolution than shorter lenses for smaller formats, with the same angular coverage.
The reason is that the residual geometrical aberrations scale exactly like the size of the lens elements.