PDA

View Full Version : Which instant film back?

J. Cole
14-May-2009, 10:05
Hi Everyone,
I'm just getting into LF and picked up an inexpensive Toyo 45G as a learning tool. For instant feedback I would like to get a polaroid back but there are several models out there and I don't know which would be the best to choose. My concern is camera compatibility and film availability. Does anyone have any recommendations? This is my first post ever on any kind of forum so I hope my question makes sense.
Thanks,
Jerry

douglas antonio
14-May-2009, 10:19
jerry,

since polaroid itself has stopped production there is fuji left. they manufacture packfilm in two different sizes. one for 4x5 size and a smaller, cheaper version. the 4x5 film is called fuji fp-100 c45 and the other fp-100c. either polaroid 505 for c45 or 405 for the 100c. both holders work with international backs, preferably if you can take off the gg holder and keep the holders in place with sliding knobs (they are fairly thick).
sorry i don't know the toyo so check first or wait for others to state that these holders fit your camera.

hope this helps,

douglas

Jiri Vasina
14-May-2009, 10:20
Hi Jerry and welcome here among us,

your question is very good, and your idea of instant feedback even better.

At the moment there are instant films available only from Fuji in 2 sizes - 3 1/4 x 4 1/4" [I'll shorten it as 3x4"] and 4x5" (I'm not counting the occasional Polaroid, because it's not manufactured new, it's only old stock, or what people have in freezers). And it's available both in color and BW:

FP-100B is 3x4" BW film with ISO 100 sensitivity
FP-100C is 3x4" color film with ISO 100 sensitivity
FP-3000B is 3x4" BW film with ISO 3000 sensitivity
(there some more speed variants that are only available in Japan, or reexported, like FP-400B for 3x4 ISO 400 film)

and then there are the 4x5" ones:
FP-100B45
FP-3000B45
FP-100C45
(and FP-500B45 again available only in Japan).