PDA

View Full Version : Using a Center Filter

Diane Maher
13-May-2009, 11:52
Is using a center filter any different than using any other filter? I will soon have a Schneider SS-XL 150mm and the center filter for it. I have never used a center filter before.

Bob Salomon
13-May-2009, 11:54
Yes, a center filter will not work unless the lens is stopped down at least 2 stops.

Nathan Potter
13-May-2009, 12:20
Bob, I've not heard this. The radial light falloff is a function of aperture at least in the case of the 150 SS-XL and at large apertures? Does this mean these Schneider center filters are designed to function best at certain apertures? Interesting; or are we splitting hairs.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

Bob Salomon
13-May-2009, 12:41
Bob, I've not heard this. The radial light falloff is a function of aperture at least in the case of the 150 SS-XL and at large apertures? Does this mean these Schneider center filters are designed to function best at certain apertures? Interesting; or are we splitting hairs.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

All center filters need the lens to be stopped down at least 2 stops for the lens to "see" the effect of the filter.

See third paragraph of the attached Schneider instruction sheet from a new Schneider center filter.

Jeremy Moore
13-May-2009, 13:12
All center filters need the lens to be stopped down at least 2 stops for the lens to "see" the effect of the filter.

See third paragraph of the attached Schneider instruction sheet from a new Schneider center filter.

Bob, that's a really vague description and doesn't really explain the "why" of why you need to stop down other than to have the "full compensation effect". Do you know if there is a white paper or something similar for this? Here is the third paragraph Bob is pointing to:

When using these Center Filters exposure time should be extended three or resp. four times. Furthermore full compensation effect of the filters is obtained by closing down the lens by two stops at least.