PDA

View Full Version : How to start your own C-41 on jobo?

Songyun
8-May-2009, 08:52
I managed to develop my own E-6 on jobo, using Kodak's 5L E-6 kit. As I searched online, I don't find such a Kodak kit for C-41. What do I need to process c-41? I would like to have chemical in small amount.

L&Scape
8-May-2009, 09:07
Tetenal have C-41 in 1L and 5L packs. I develop my 8x10 slides in their E-6 chemicals and I am happy with the results even though I do not have the most accurate temperature control.

Wallace_Billingham
8-May-2009, 09:42
Freestyle Photo sells C41 kits in several sizes

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/10123-Unicolor-Powder-C-41-Film-Negative-Processing-Kit-1-Liter?cat_id=1001

I have used this kit with decent results with both 120 roll film and 4x5 sheets

It is really pretty easy

Mark Barendt
8-May-2009, 09:47
I'm just getting started to and looking at these guys.

http://www.labdepot.com/

Gudmundur Ingolfsson
8-May-2009, 09:47
E-6 is very easy in the Jobo. C-41 is rather difficult because the developer time (color developer) is very short, only 3 min 15 sec. 4x5" is OK in the Expert 3010 but any bigger sheet is risky. The 5x7" or 8x10" color negative sheet is so expensive and the risk of uneven development is so high that I send it to a dependable lab in Germany. Take that from a guy that has run his own JOBO Autolab for 20 years.

Gudmundur Ingolfsson
8-May-2009, 10:04
http://www.4photolab.com
http://www.colorservicesinc.com
Those are dependable labs for big sheet C-41 processingin the US.

Bruce Watson
8-May-2009, 10:21