PDA

View Full Version : Shutter speed question

gevalia
7-May-2009, 07:41
I want to start off by saying that I often refrain from asking questions. As a newbie, I sometimes get answers that are intentionally belittling. For the most part everyone here has helped me tremendously, but there are those...

My question is on setting shutter speed. I had heard a while ago (somewhere) that you should always set the shutter speed on a shutter dial to one of the marked speeds. Never inbetween. If I wanted f22 aperature and the meter read 1/25 but the shutter speeds were 1/5, 1/10, 1/50, etc...I would adjust my aperature accordingly to use 1/10 speed (for example only).

What I heard is that when you select a speed between 2 markings on a shutter, that the shutter makes a choice on which of the 2 speeds to use. So with my example (of 1/5, 1/10, 1/50, ...) I would never get 1/25.

Is this true?

Thanks...

Jim Noel
7-May-2009, 07:56
yes and no.
Some shutters used stepped cams to set shutter speeds, while others use a continuous cam. Those which use stepped cams can only be set at marked intervals. if set in between, they will commonly used the lower speed.
those with a continuous cam can be set between marked speeds however usually not very accurately.

Gem Singer
7-May-2009, 07:58
Yes. Assuming that you have a Copal shutter, the shutter will use the higher shutter speed, if you set it at an in-between speed.

Make your fine adjustments with the aperture settings. They are marked in 1/3 increments.

Don Dudenbostel
7-May-2009, 08:00
I do not believe Copal or Compur can be set between speeds but Ilex can. I'm also fairly certain Betax can be set between also. Others I don't know.

Martin Aislabie
7-May-2009, 08:32
I always use the fixed/marked shutter speeds and take up the increments on the aperture dial.

Martin

Toyon
7-May-2009, 08:45
Yeah, I agree with Martin. Use the f-stop to adjust. Also, your speeds should be checked periodically.

BrianShaw
7-May-2009, 10:08