PDA

View Full Version : wood

e
31-Aug-2001, 02:54
Is the wood used in camera construction a major factor to take into consideratio n when purchasing a camera? Or are the visual characteristics and weight of the wood the only considerations in that regard. I've seen some ebony canes fron afr ica and they seemed as strong as steel and very heavy too..I dont know if I woul d like to haul that kind of weight even for the strength of it.Rosewood is prett y tough too and cherry and mahogony seem on the lighter side. What are the real differences between the various woods or are they just cosmetic? I wonder also w hy rock maple isn't used for cameras? Thanks E.D.L.

paul owen
31-Aug-2001, 05:10
I'm no tree expert, but I've been really impressed with the quality of the Ebony I use. I understand that ebony is a very hard wood but the Ebony cameras are very lightweight, but this is down to design I think. From what I gather, ebony is very straight grained and therefore doesn't flex like other woods? Regards

Bob Salomon
31-Aug-2001, 05:20
Wista uses cherry, rosewood and bony for their wood cameras.

Cherry is by far the lightest.

Rosewood and ebony are quite a bit heavier and ebony is the heaviest.

Ebony, being a tropical tree is also best suited to use in humid/wet areas.

Dave Willison
31-Aug-2001, 09:35
At some level, there are real differences between different types of woods. According to Wisner, for example, American Black Cherry and Honduran Mahogany have the best shrink ratios as well as other favorable engineering characteristics that make them more suitable for LF camera construction. It may be equally important, however, to focus on how the wood is selected, stored, milled, joined, and finished.