PDA

View Full Version : LF recommendations for instant transfer

davidwaugh
18-Apr-2009, 03:21
In two weeks I am about to go and work in a remote community in central Australia as a Youth Worker... one 'program' I'd love to instigate involves using instant transfer as a medium to record themselves and cultural events. I also think it would be incredibly fun and nice to do something more 'hands on' - especially seeing so much of the program already is computer related (video production, music, web etc).

Now to my question. I am a complete LF newbie! Sorry ;-) I use MF (Hasselblad) personally, but obviously the instant transfer lends itself to LF for size. I guess I will need a 4x5 view camera with a polaroid back (I guess I will be using Fuji FP100c) and around a 150mm lens (mainly portraits I think). That's about the limit of my knowledge! As I'll be buying it personally, I would love recommendations that might be closer to US$1000 mark rather than 5K.

I would really appreciate any guidance. It doesn't really matter if it's a true field camera as I think I will setup a little makeshift studio although postage to get their might necessitate it! Any accessories I will need?

Thanks very much. I know these newbie questions like this can be really tiresome but I just wanted some real user advice :-) And I heard you were all a bunch of great people!

Gem Singer
18-Apr-2009, 03:52
I would use a digital camera and an inkjet printer.

Lots of advantages for, what essentially sounds like identification portraits.

Much less bother and less expensive than a LF camera and instant film.

davidwaugh
18-Apr-2009, 04:22
Thanks Gem but there's enough digital work already and I would prefer to do something more 'hands on'. They certainly aren't identification portraits at all - way off the mark and a little patronising to be honest.

Gene McCluney
18-Apr-2009, 09:28