PDA

View Full Version : Rodenstock lens separation

Patrick Dixon
17-Apr-2009, 11:27
I'm new to LF, but I'm steadily acquiring some gear in the hope of shooting a picture or two in the near future.

So, I now have a Rodenstock Sironar 150mm F5.6 from around 1973 with fairly major separation, and I'm looking to fix it. It didn't cost me much and it wouldn't be worth a lot fixed, so first thought was to have a go myself using the info on the web. The plan was to separate the elements using methylene chloride and re-cement using Norland 61 UV curing glue.

However, having removed the offending glass, I've discovered it's actually 3 cemented elements and they aren't identical diameters or aligned on their sides - so I'm now doubting my ability to re-cement them in the correct alignment. I've asked Focal Point for a quote, but I'm anticipating that it will not be economical, and I'm after any advice.

http://www.yatecourtbarn.adsl24.co.uk/images/IMGP0683.JPG

http://www.yatecourtbarn.adsl24.co.uk/images/IMGP0684.JPG

http://www.yatecourtbarn.adsl24.co.uk/images/IMGP0686.JPG

Patrick Dixon
17-Apr-2009, 12:11
The quote is $225 inc post, so not really economical.

Gene McCluney
17-Apr-2009, 12:24
You should be able to replace the lens with a good one for about the same price.

Dan Fromm
17-Apr-2009, 14:19
Um, Patrick, Sironars were six elements in two groups. The front cell has a cemented doublet and a singlet. The front group (doublet) rests on the first step, the second group (singlet) rests on the third step, and there's air between them.

I've never had the opportunity to look at a Sironar closely, but your pictures make me think that the groups are swaged into their holders. If so, getting the front out and replacing it will be problematic. Its hard to tell, but I think the rear group in its little holder will screw out; all of my 6/4 plasmats' inner groups unscrew ...