PDA

View Full Version : Arca Swiss vs Canham DLS vs Ebony

timberline12k
9-Apr-2009, 19:45
What are the relative strengths of the following three types of 4X5 cameras?
Monorail vs Metal vs Premium modern wooden camera. Sample cameras could include the Arca- Swiss F-Classic (or F-Classic Compact or F-Field) 4X5 vs K.B. Canham DLC 4X5 vs Ebony RW45E. Have any advantages changed in the past few years.

I tried to pick the best of each category, but recognize I am just beginning the research process. If I decide to enter the LF field, I will probably purchase used equipment. Before I do that I would like to know what the holy grail is for 4X5 field cameras.

Bonus Question: What 2-3 lenses? I would use LF for landscape, nature, and architecture. I would probably purchase 2-3 lenses in the 35mm equivalent range of 20mm to 100mm. Any ideas as to the most popular 4X5 LF lenses?

AnzaRunner
10-Apr-2009, 06:36
I have zero complaints about my Toyo 45AII. Solid, light, compact, awesome setup.

Archphoto
10-Apr-2009, 06:51
Mono-rail versus folding: mono-rail suited in all situations, in the studio a focussing back (mono-rail) is a must.

Monorail versus folding, weight: a Sinar P2 is heavier than a Chamonix.
But there are lighter camera's than the Sinar like the Cambo's or Sinar F series.

Lenses for architecture: (58XL), 75mm SA, 115mm Grandagon and 150mm Symar, 240mm.
You can start-out with the 75 (a must for interiors), the 150 and the 210/240.
I would not go for a 135mm because of it's limited IC.
The 115mm Grandagon gives you a less pronounced perspective in architecture.

Hope this has been of help, I have been into architectural photography for the past 30 years or so.

Peter

Herb Cunningham
10-Apr-2009, 07:04