PDA

View Full Version : Any (Un)Happy Users of the 400/8 T fujinon lens.

Rapahel Zeiher
8-Oct-2001, 09:41
I am a french amateur photographer trying to get long lens inputs for my 4x5 in ches sytem (linhof Master Technika). I have on the top end of my system a 360 Ap o Ronar MC (Copal 3). Recently I saw a 400/8 Fujinon T lens for sale. I found o nly spare information on this forum (I looked before at Mr. Thalmann and Mr.Pere z sites ) about the T series.

I hope someone can tell me about the quality of this lens? It?s worth to sell th e 360 apo ronar ?

Thanks in advance and best regards from France

Brian Ellis
8-Oct-2001, 10:51
I used the 400 T for a number of years. I sold it only because I switched cameras and my new camea had a longer bellows than the previous camera so I didn't require a telephoto lens any more. I thought it was an excellent lens and it was relatively small and compact for a 400 mm telephoto. The Copal 1 shutter makes it relatively easy to back pack compared to the Copal 3 shutters you typically see on modern normal 360 mm lenses. I can't tell you whether you should sell your existing lens to buy the 400 T - only you can decide that - but I can tell you that I don't think you'll be disappointed with the quality of the 400 T. As I remember, having the nodal point out in front of the lens made it very slightly more time consuming to compose and focus when using front movements - but this wasn't a problem for me and in any event it's inherent in any telephoto lens, not just the 400 T.

Joseph Dickerson
8-Oct-2001, 20:19
Raphal.

I?m currently using the 400 Fuji Telephoto and am quite pleased with it.

It?s relatively compact for a 400 mm and it is very sharp. Could you rent one to compare? The APO Ronar will probably cover more and I expect might be sharper. But with a #3 shutter on the Ronar the Fuji will be a better choice for backpacking/hiking.

Joe Dicke

Bob Salomon
8-Oct-2001, 21:42