PDA

View Full Version : modern vs. older lens

Craig Allen
25-Aug-2001, 09:01
I'm fairly new to LF (4x5) and thinking about upgrading to a modern lens, replac ing my Kodak Ektar 203mm f:7.7 (coated) in Graphic synchro-compur. Looking at th e Caltar II S 210mm 5.6 in copal 0. This would compliment the 135mm Caltar II S I already have. Besides the new copal shutter and 5.6 aperture, which will help gather more light for focusing, am I that much further ahead for B&W landscape w ork with the more modern 210mm Caltar?

Thanks in advance for you comments...

Robert A. Zeichner
25-Aug-2001, 09:25
I'm certain that a case could be made for the more modern coatings used on the Caltar, but there's less than a stop difference in the maximun aperture of the lenses in question and I doubt focusing will be that much easier. The Ektar is a fabulous lens. It has near apochromatic performance and is very sharp. For B&W work, I'd not bother to make the change. I currently have an f 5.6 Symmar-S in a copal shutter and the f 7.7 as well, although not in as nice a shutter as yours is mounted in. I keep the latter on my camera (it's so compact I can fold it up mounted on the Wisner) and with a adapter, can use the smaller filters that fit my Nikkors and Repro Claron. The 210 Symmar-S sits on the shelf.

jim_2073
25-Aug-2001, 11:21