PDA

View Full Version : Advice on HP5+ and fibre paper please..

brian robertson
31-Mar-2009, 07:23
Dear Forum,
I'm very new to 5x4, and sorted out some basic kit for portraits. I'm about to start using (currently) Ilford HP5 so my first question concerns this- should I rate it at 200 and alter development appropriately? Most shots will be indoors, mainly ambient light.
Second is, what is a good, cheap. fibre paper for variable grade printing? I'm a student and any cash saved is diverted back into photography!
many thanks, B.

David Karp
31-Mar-2009, 07:34
For good VC fiber paper, check out the offerings at Freestyle. They still have some rebranded Ilford MGIVFB (Arista Premium, I think) and Kentmere VCFB (Arista.EduUltra). They also offer Ilford, Foma, Slavich, and lots of other papers.

photographs42
31-Mar-2009, 07:44
Brian,
My tests show that, for my system, HP5+ should be exposed at ISO 400. I do exteriors primarily so my advice would be to try a few sheets at different settings and study the results. Full film speed and development testing is more accurate but, of course, more expensive.
Jerome

Gem Singer
31-Mar-2009, 08:03
I have been using Ilford HP-5+ for many years at the recommended ISO 400 speed.

Develop it in Ilford DD-X developer.

Check with Freestyle, and select a fiber base VC paper that fits your budget. You can't go wrong.

Andrew O'Neill
31-Mar-2009, 08:27
Now if I were to take the advice of using 400 as my EI, I would end up with very thin, muddy shadows. A normal EI for me in HP5+ in pyrocat-HD and Xtol 1+1 is 250. This may not work for you either. You have to find out for yourself what EI and development works best for you.

Eric Biggerstaff
31-Mar-2009, 09:31