PDA

View Full Version : Am I missing something here? Petzval auction

Jim Cole
28-Mar-2009, 16:51
Here is a no name Petzval lens bid up to over $800 US on the big auction site from a seller named cia_love_animal in Australia.

I am just learning about some of these antique lenses, but don't these usually go for waaay less than this?

Why is this one getting 4 to 5 times normal prices?

I'm confused!

CCHarrison
28-Mar-2009, 17:09
Jim

I think your instincts are correct - no reason this should sell this high... it doesnt even have a flange. I sold a very nice Petzval here last week for $ 205
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MESOX:IT&item=220378671967

And a sold a very nice CC Harrison 1/4 plate Petzval for $ 549, see http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MESOX:IT&item=220379902238

possible bidding manipulation going on....?!@?!?@....one bidder has 75% activity with that seller...I dont know and I am not accusing - but take a look and judge for yourself...

The seller has done a good job on the ad...posting an image from the lens is a great idea when selling Petzvals...its all about the swirl and the 3d effect....

Dan

wfwhitaker
28-Mar-2009, 17:16
When you folks get it figured out, please explain this one to me:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330314832250&ssPageName=ADME:L:EOISSA:US:1123.

I'm the seller of this one and I know this lens was worth more than the paltry $42.15 it brought - especially when another Petzval sold a just a few weeks before for $677!

I wouldn't doubt the idea of shill bidding with the seller the OP referenced. Of course, nothing can be proved, but that seller has been the subject of much discussion.

CCHarrison
28-Mar-2009, 17:38
Will, your lens is a magic lantern / stereopticon / projection lens with no flange, and questionable glass...I'd say $ 42 is in the park....sorry....

wfwhitaker
28-Mar-2009, 18:12
The $677 lens was a magic lantern lens, too, I believe.