PDA

View Full Version : Copal shutter (Fujinon) "soft" time dial... a concern?

ignis075
27-Mar-2009, 21:37
Hi all,
I am a photographer of many years but completely new to LF photography and lenses. I'm currently in the process of buying the various equipment I'll need to begin my venture into the medium (Chamonix 4x5, lenses, etc.).

The first lens I purchased was a Fujinon NW 150mm 5.6, from KEH, in very nice condition with a Copal 0 shutter. This is a fairly common 150mm lens and I'm guessing that some users here have the exact same lens, or have used it before.

I had no reason to "doubt" the condition of this lens... until I received my second lens today, a 300mm Fujinon C 8.5 which I purchased from Ben Syverson, a member of this forum. In addition to having essentially perfect glass, this 300mm lens has a CRISP shutter speed dial, and it *clicks* distinctly from value to value.

And now I sample the 150mm lens which seems to have a somewhat "soft" speed dial. While it basically clicks into each increment, it's not nearly as crisp as the 300mm... almost like it takes a fine touch to settle into the desired time setting. By comparison, the 300mm shutter is superior in feel.

Again, I don't have *any* previous experience with LF lenses or Copal shutters, but is this anything I should be concerned about? Is it possible that the "soft" time dial on the 150mm has been used excessively, even if the front and rear lens elements are perfect? Am I completely over-concerned here?

Hopefully some members here can provide some advice. If the 150mm has a heavily-used shutter with mint glass, I want to take up the issue with KEH and perhaps send it back for a refund... I'm probably too concerned, but as we all know, photography is an expensive art and I want quality for my money!

Thanks in advance,
Brent Sorrentino

Peter K
28-Mar-2009, 02:33