PDA

View Full Version : Stephen Shore's lenses?

G Benaim
17-Mar-2009, 09:51
I'm just getting into Shore's work, and wondered if anyone had come accross what lenses (length, primarily) he used in Uncommon Places. Thanks,

GB

Walter Calahan
17-Mar-2009, 11:11
http://www.bard.edu/academics/faculty/faculty.php?action=details&id=804

e-mail Stephen or call him.

claudiocambon
17-Mar-2009, 15:25
The introduction to the new editions describes how he went from 4x5 to 8x10 early on in the project, because color neg film in the early 70's wasn't considered to enlarge well. So you also have that distinction to factor in. I agree, email him, and I'm sure he will answer, especially if you relate it to your own specific optical needs/questions.

My guess is he used a 210 or 240 on the 8x10.

Frank Petronio
17-Mar-2009, 17:52
There is a video floating around of him with an assistant shooting one of his excruciatingly boring photos in flat light and he is using a nice 8x10 Deardorff on a Gitzo with a Rodenstock with a red-colored ring on the rim, so I guess it would be a modern Sironar-S, either a 240 or 300 based on the size. So other than the rickety old camera, he's up to speed with the latest and greatest.

(How many people can one offend in one gear-orientated post? ;-)

venchka
17-Mar-2009, 18:07
Not me. I'm so clueless I'm offend-proof. Who is this photographer? I have a Gitzo. If I buy a Deardorff for it and a big bucks high dollar lens, will anyone ask what lens or lenses I used?

Nope.

Frank Petronio
17-Mar-2009, 18:12
He is in a Northeastern clique of academic photography teachers who rode the New Topographics bandwagon of the late 1970s to minor fame and profitable gallery sales by doing cold, straight documentary photography of rural yet contemporary Americana, in his case using 8x10 color neg film, which was a bugger to deal with 30 years ago.