PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Bozeman, Montana

millertimemsu
9-Mar-2009, 13:40
My name is Tyler Miller and I am a photography major at Montana State University in Bozeman. I started shooting 4x5 this semester and obviously have been developing my own film and making my own prints. I am from Pennsylvania and live there when I am not in school. I started using T-Max 100 but I recently switched to Ilford FP4+ to change it up. I found that TMAX was somewhat picky with exposure and development (our school uses sprint chemicals). I think Ilford FP4+ is more "compatible" if you will, with a wider range of developers and gives more latitude for exposure.

I like 4x5 because I think about each image a lot more carefully than with 35mm and especially digital. I love digital, but its nice to get out and shoot 4x5 scenes.

Anyways, thats about it.

Tyler
www.blog.tylermillerphotography.com
millertime07MSU@gmail.com

MIke Sherck
9-Mar-2009, 13:51
Welcome to the funhouse! You're right about Tmax: it is indeed fussy. It's my favorite film but it took me a while to get to know it. I think it was worth the effort, others have differing opinion. Ilford's FP4+ is certainly a more forgiving film in some respects, has a completely different look, I think. I don't think the film matters all that much: you'll probably find something you like. When you do, stick with it until you get to know it pretty well and that will save you a lot of headaches. A key point in photography is to learn to manage (and reduce!) the variables.

Good luck!

Mike

Robert Brummitt
9-Mar-2009, 15:44
Hey there Tyler.
Welcome to the Forum. You should post some images. I'm curious to see your part of the country. My wife and I are playing with the idea of visiting Bozeman and then down into Yellowstone for a family vacation.
Please show and tell.;) ;)

Walter Calahan
9-Mar-2009, 17:25