PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Pyrocat-HD

77seriesiii
7-Mar-2009, 13:52
So today was the 'BIG' day...first bit of SUN in over 2 weeks! Wife and I wandered outside and shot the first 12 shots with our 'new' ToyoAX!!! Big excitement, really really jazzed. All exposed shots are Foma 100 4x5..Yep I'm a LF photographer now! :D

So I am now brewing Pyrocat purchased from photoformulary and reading the developer's cookbook. Soooo, I noticed the recommendation of using an alkaline fixer without hardener. I mutter a bit and look at my fixer and it is acidic, will this remove the stain of the pyro and will it work?

Secondly, how important is the fixer w/o hardener? I purchased a Kodak powder fixer from freestyle (http://www.freestylephoto.biz/1971746-Kodak-Fixer-Powder-To-Make-1-Gallon?cat_id=303). 10 minutes ago I thought I read that it was alkaline but no such luck now. Though one is acidic and says so (purchased from Macodirect and is their ecofix) the other is Kodak and is simply a general fixer.

Until I can get an alkaline fixer which of the two fixers is the better route?

Thx for the help.

./e

Gene McCluney
7-Mar-2009, 14:02
You can successfully use Kodak Rapid Fixer with hardener, if you omit the hardener (which comes in a separate bottle). I know, I have used it extensively. The Kodak powder fixer has a hardener in it (AFAIK). You should be able to find the Kodak Rapid-Fixer with Hardener at a well stocked photo store, it is the most common fix available.

The hardener component of fixers bleach out the Pyro stain, that is why you need to use a non-hardening fix. The tanning effect of the Pyro developer hardens the film quite enough.

sanking
7-Mar-2009, 14:55
Gene is correct. Kodak Rapid Fixer is fine for fixing negatives developed in Pyrocat-HD. In fact, any fixer is fine so long as it is not highly acidic.