PDA

View Full Version : A reciprocity cry for help.

77seriesiii
3-Mar-2009, 11:36
so I am new to LF and am using 4x5 Foma 100 (live in Germany so it is inexpensive). We took the camera out yesterday and it was a bumbling affair, no light meter, no watch, only a slight understanding of recip, and then the battery died in our Rollei...All in all an eventful day. with the DSLR we metered a shot for ISO 100, f22 at 15 secs and then my brain started to fry.

I am technical in nature...doing IT for a living and used to fly for the US Army but when I look at Foma's chart:

Schwarzschild effect
Exposure (seconds) 1/1000–1/2 1 10 100
Lengthening of exposure 1x 2x 8x 16x
Correction of aperture number 0 -1 -3 -4

I get that the exposure is a factor of ten but I have no idea how to fill in the blank spaces between 1, 10 and 100 seconds. I have scrounged the forum here and have read quite a bit on outside forums/websites that talk one through reciprocity so I grasp what is going on and why this is an issue but for the life of me I am not having the light bulb moment that will enable me to figure this out on my own.

So I am approaching the forum, with me hat in hand, and am begging someone out there to enlighten me, provide a spark of some sort, so I can get through this and make some reciprocity charts.

Many thanks

Erick

Vaughn
3-Mar-2009, 11:39
How about putting the numbers on a graph and using it to get the in between times?

Vaughn

77seriesiii
3-Mar-2009, 11:46
that would work? for some stupid reason I was hung up that it was a logarithmic curve line...time to make some graph paper or buy it in the morning.

Is it that easy?

Thanks

./e

venchka
3-Mar-2009, 11:53
I can't help your aching head or fill in any blanks except to say that apparently Foma film has terrible recirocity compared to other films. I'm heading out this weekend with my first batch of Foma 200.

Good luck!

Alan Davenport
3-Mar-2009, 12:42
Is it that easy?