PDA

View Full Version : Wild Idea for Next-Gen LF

mccormickstudio
2-Mar-2009, 23:06
I have this wild idea for a next-generation large format camera. It literally came to me in a dream a few weeks ago and now I can't stop thinking about it.

I dreamed that I was in the focusing bag behind my 8x10 Chamonix and instead of a ground glass it was a thin LCD monitor - color, not inverted, reading the direct result of the lens on the front standard. Levelling with a beep and calculating the exposure. The film holder slipped in behind the LCD, just as it does behind the groundglass.

The technology was a means to making the film exposure, not a substitute for the film.

Prophetic? I'm an artist and not an engineer, so if one of you tech-laden geniuses figures out how to make this, forget me not.

Okay, five hours of editing and twice through my Bonnie Prince Billy playlist - I'm going to bed.

Copyright Craig McCormick 2009

aphexafx
2-Mar-2009, 23:14
You're imagining a panel with an 8x10 sensor on the back and an 8x10 LCD on the front that would replace your focusing frame/glass, and provide metering and help you find parallel lines, level, and the like - a digital, live, "Polaroid" with touch capabilities?

lol - it's a great idea, but in reality this thing would cost thousands and thousands of dollars and only do slightly more than a piece of ground glass and a bubble level! :D

I can't imagine an 8x10 CCD? I mean, even a low resolution one. It would cost millions of dollars to produce - one in a thousand would be acceptable.

Dennis
2-Mar-2009, 23:18
It could be auto focus couldn't it? In fact you could touch the screen in a few places with a little touch tool and tell the sensor what you want in focus.

aphexafx
2-Mar-2009, 23:23
It could be auto focus couldn't it? In fact you could touch the screen in a few places with a little touch tool and tell the sensor what you want in focus.