PDA

View Full Version : Filter examples

Jehu
17-Feb-2009, 08:52
I'm new to filters. I just bought Lee Filters book "Inspiring Professionals". I'm no professional but I'm certainly inspired. My Lee system is on back order so I've got some time to study up on the topic.

Does anyone have any good examples of filter use they can post up and explain?
Thanks for any contributions to this educational endeavor.

Steve M Hostetter
17-Feb-2009, 09:04
polarizers help

Jehu
17-Feb-2009, 09:31
Thanks Steve. How much exposure compensation does a polarizer need? Is there a difference between linear and circular for exposure?

Steve M Hostetter
17-Feb-2009, 12:04
Hello Jehu,, I think the circular is for autofocus so I'd say linear is right.
I suppose you could also do the same thing more less w/ a #25 red with black&white photography.which is 2 stops more exposure for either filter.. I shot this in color and converted it to B&W

Ken Lee
17-Feb-2009, 12:22
For a natural-looking sky, it can be very helpful to use a Yellow Filter and a Polarizer together (http://www.kenleegallery.com/html/tech/index.html#Filter).

Dennis
17-Feb-2009, 13:41
http://www.pbase.com/dpurdy/newport_oregon

Every image in this portfolio is shot with a deep red. The reason is that the contrast on the sand was very flat, but in the warm September light with the huge ocean sky being so blue the shadows were very bluish. So the red filter extremely deepend the shadows and emphasized variation in tone in the sand. I was careful not to over expose and then I pushed the process a bit. If you look at the one image in the second row that shows clouds and a little line of ocean over the dunes, you will see the ocean is black. The deep red did that as well as darken the clouds.
Dennis

venchka
17-Feb-2009, 16:01
Dennis,

Fabulous.

Archphoto
17-Feb-2009, 16:28
Looking great, Dennis !

Dennis
17-Feb-2009, 17:54
Thanks!
Dennis

anchored
18-Feb-2009, 00:02