PDA

View Full Version : new to lf

rhyno
16-Feb-2009, 20:14
Hello I am new to the large format camera, i have done 35, medium format, and do mostly digital now but my father and i have been inspired to do large format, 4x5 to be exact. I was wanting to know if there is any books to get to better comprehend all aspects of these cameras. Also any books that would have kit plans in them (my father and i would like to build one, we both have years of woodworking so im sure we can handle anything.)

thanks for any information

John Schneider
16-Feb-2009, 21:28
Have you looked at http://www.largeformatphotography.info/?

John Kasaian
16-Feb-2009, 22:01
welcome!
Just click on the lf homeage on the blue banner above for a ton of info to get you started.

Glenn Thoreson
16-Feb-2009, 22:31
Welcome to the world of the big negative. My suggestion for a beginner is always the same - it's just a camera like any other camera. A lens on one end and film on the other end of a container that you keep your dark in. There are differences in how much you can control perspective and plane of focus. These are things you can pick up as you go. Most beginners get too caught up in technical aspects to actually enjoy the benefits of the format. Go out and shoot, enjoy and learn. Building a large format camera can be as difficult or as hard as you want to make it. I've built many, from box cameras to monorails. One suggestion for bellows you might want to consider is the Sinar bellows. They are square, so you can easily utilize a revolving back, and they are plentiful and cheap. On the auction gizmo, you can find them for 20 bucks and up. They mount easily on home builts, too. I hope you enjoy your new venture. You will be very impressed with your first 4X5 negative.

bspeed
17-Feb-2009, 07:46
Welcome, there are a few others from OK here also. I'm not that far from the border myself.
check out this thread:
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=43839

venchka