PDA

View Full Version : Humbling Experiences

Kirk Gittings
14-Feb-2009, 23:28
IME there is nothing quite as humbling as having to photograph the exact same subject as a famous photographer. Well after I was established as an architectural photographer I had couple of very humbling experiences. Twice I have had to photograph the same building as Nick Merrick of Hedrich Blessing. Once I had to do some additional photography on a bank that he had previously photographed and once it was the other way around. In both cases I found his creativity and technical mastery a real humbling educational experience. Anyone have a similar experience?

John Cahill
15-Feb-2009, 00:28
I tried to photograph a green pepper in an old aluminum reflector. It didn't turn out like E. Weston's Pepper Nr. 30.

Bruce M. Herman
15-Feb-2009, 00:34
My fiance went with me to Portage LAke here in AK one spring during break up. She brought only an HP point and shot digital camera while I had my 4x5. It was cold and damp, and she doesn't deal with those conditions. I was doing my thing while she sat patiently in the car. Suddenly she hopped out, took a couple of quick snap shots (I think that this is how the name came to be), and then got back in. Later, after my film was developed, I showed her what I had done. But when I saw her photo, I felt like a beginner. Luck, fresh eyes, or just more natural talent...

aphexafx
15-Feb-2009, 01:27
Lol, these stories are good for the soul. I want to read more!

I am studying, among others, Abelardo Morell. His seemingly simple shot of a white porcelain container on a table corner is famous and very inspiring, so I tried to do something similar. I tried for an entire day. Let me just say that I am embarrassed and I hope the guys where I get my film processes didn't look too hard.

It really puts you in your place. You've got to be determined. ;)

I gave up, "some other day" I told myself...

Ref: http://www.abelardomorell.net/books/books_m01.html